for viola solo (2012)

World Premiere: Melia Watras, viola; November 5, 2012, Seattle, WA

Duration: 3:06

Program Notes:
Ansioso is a reflection on the desire to escape. Each section of the piece can be seen as a side of a cage, with the first segment providing the pitch material and order for the other three. Ansioso exists as the third movement of my Sonata for viola solo, as well as an independent piece.

—Melia Watras

Melia Watras: Ansioso for viola solo (2012)
Melia Watras, viola